top of page
Search

Why Ordinary People do Extraordinary Things

Moses was a runaway.

David was a shepherd boy.

Rahab was a Prostitute.

Peter and Andrew were fishermen.

And Paul, well he was a murderer.


God has a track record of using broken people. He chooses unremarkable people to do remarkable things. He uses ordinary people to do extraordinary things. Why? Because that’s how He gets all the glory. God uses broken people to show the world that he alone can fix and restore and repair.



It’s so easy for me to believe that God won’t or can’t use me. The worst part is, sometimes I display that mindset as humility. I say things like, “Oh I’m not qualified to lead that bible study” or “I’m not entertaining enough to host a small group at our home”. Gross Aly. I actually told a friend of mine one time as I was writing my first Manna for Momma devotional, “I don’t think I’ll actually ever release this, who am I to try to lead people to Jesus? I’m not qualified.” And her response changed my life forever. She looked me dead in my fake meek eyes and said, “No, you’re not, but the Holy Spirit is”. BOOM. Mic Drop. Whatever else the kids are saying nowadays that means you were roasted and left speechless. There has never been a truer statement spoken over me. I am not qualified, but the Holy Spirit is.



As believers, we have that power inside of us. Peter replied, “Repent and be baptized, every one of you, in the name of Jesus Christ for the forgiveness of your sins. And you will receive the gift of the Holy Spirit.” Acts 2:28.

The power to do remarkable and extraordinary things in the name of Jesus. This power doesn’t come from anything we’ve done or any sort of ability we have, it comes directly from God through the ability of the Holy Spirit inside of us. This comes from the salvation that is a gift from God. “For by grace you have been saved through faith. And this is not your own doing; it is the gift of God, not a result of works, so that no one may boast.” Ephesians 2:8-9.


Wow. I feel this in motherhood so often. It can be so easy for us to believe that we are not good enough moms. It can be easy to listen to the devil tell us that we will never be able to meet all the needs, give all the kisses, fix all the problems, or give all the snacks required by our little humans, but guess what, your heavenly father can. He can use you to raise up those little disciples. You don’t have to be good enough because He is. You just have to allow him to work in and through you. He wants to guide you and direct your way, let Him. “The Lord directs the steps of the godly. He delights in every detail of their lives. Though they stumble, they will never fall, for the Lord holds them by the hand.” Psalm 37:23-24


On the flip side: The world will tell you, “You are enough”, “You are stronger than you think”, “You can do hard things”, those statements are only true if you have Jesus.


You are enough, because you have Jesus. “Not that we are competent in ourselves to claim anything for ourselves, but our competence comes from God.” 2 Corinthians 3:5.


You are stronger than you think because you have the power of the Holy Spirit. "My flesh and my heart may fail, but God is the strength of my heart and my portion forever." Psalm 73:26.

You can do hard things because you rely on the God for your source of strength. “I can do all things through Him who gives me strength.” Philippians 4:13.


So next time you’re feeling like you aren’t good enough, like you don’t have what it takes, remember this, you have the Holy Spirit, and that momma is all it takes.



Prayer: Father God, thank you for sending your son to die for me and then be raised from the dead for me so I may receive the Holy Spirit as my guide through this life. Thank you for the power you provide through the Holy Spirit. Help me remember that all can do is because of you, and because of you, I can do it all.






10 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comentários


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page