top of page
Search

Do Your Homework

Education is so important. It’s not always easy, but it is critical in the development of our children. We work so hard to make sure they are in good schools, and are doing their homework regularly. When was that last time you said, “It’s ok, I understand you don’t have time for homework, the X-Box is just as important.”? Never, right? The other stuff can wait, you have to do your homework first. When was the last time you did your spiritual homework, Momma?



I did not really study my Bible until I was well into my 20’s. I became a believer at a young age but I did not truly start to spend time in the Word of God until much later in life. Why? There are so many excuses but they are just that, excuses. I don’t have time. I’ve got kids to take care of. I don’t feel well. I work a full-time job. I mean we could go on and on all day. Jesus commands us to abide in Him. Part of this command includes studying His Word. If you want to know God’s plan for your life, read the Bible. If you want to know your place in this world, read the Bible. If you want to figure out your calling, mission or purpose, read the Bible. If you want to be a better mom, friend, or wife, read your bible.




Paul says, “For whatever was written in former days was written for our instruction, that through endurance and through encouragement of the scriptures we might have hope” (Romans 15:4). We can find hope in the word of God. We must have endurance and perseverance but with the help of the Holy Spirit, we will find hope in the word.

This is your homework for life. The Word of God is living and breathing. It is literally God talking to you. Let’s get started.


One of the amazing benefits of studying the word of God is that you grow in wisdom and knowledge of God's will. When you study and know the word, you develop a discernment, along with the help of the Holy Spirit, to recognize right from wrong. You are better able to hear and understand God's will because you know God's will from reading his scriptures.

We are better able to navigate difficult situations, circumstances, and emotions because we know what the word says about those situations, circumstances, and emotions. Therefore, we can also help our children through those same trials.

The more knowledge we have of God's word, the more it bears fruit in our lives to those around us.


I encourage you to go get the book “Women of the Word” by Jen Wilken. It is a wonderful starting point for believers to get into the Word of God.


Bible Verse: “All scripture is breathed out by God and profitable for teaching, for reproof, for correction, and for training in righteousness, that the man of God may be competent, equipped for every good work” (2 Timothy 3:16-17).





Something to think about: Get involved at your local church with a women’s Bible study group. Because group projects are always more fun!


I will be praying Colossians 1:9-14 over each of you that read this blog post!


"And so, from the day we heard, we have not ceased to pray for you, asking that you may be filled with the knowledge of his will in all spiritual wisdom and understanding, so as to walk in a manner worthy of the Lord, fully pleasing to him, bearing fruit in every good work and increasing in the knowledge of God. May you be strengthened with all power, according to his glorious might, for all endurance and patience with joy, giving thanks to the Father, who has qualified you to share in the inheritance of the saints in light. He has delivered us from th domain of darkness and transferred us to the kingdom of his beloved son, in whom we have redemption, the forgiveness of sins" (Colossians 1:9-14 ESV).


Prayer: Father, reveal to me times in my life where I can sit down and be in your Word. I feel very busy and overwhelmed but I know this is important. Help me MAKE time to be in your Word. Help me to find a group of women who can help support me in my Bible study journey. Put a church group in my life that can help me abide in you and your Word. Help me find a way to get the book “Women of the Word” and open my heart to receive what you have for me. Give me a desire and passion to dig deep into your Word.




2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page