top of page
Search

Because you always say that.

I have this game I play with my kids. I don’t know how it started, or why it started, but it’s a thing. I say “Hey guess what?” and they respond with one of two answers. Option one, “You love me?” or option two, “You want a cookie?”. This is because since they were born, I have said “Guess what?” and when they said “what?” I would respond with one of two answers, “I love you” or “I want a cookie”. Again, don’t ask why, I don’t have a good enough answer. However, now that they have heard it so many times, they don’t respond to my “Guess what” ‘s with “what” anymore. They simply guess which answer I’m going to give.

 



I go back and forth on weather I want them to guess right or not. Sometimes they will say, “You want a cookie?” and I will say, “NO! I love you!”. Other times they will say, “You love me?” and I’ll say, “How did you know?”.  One day, this was the case and my daughter responded to my “how did you know” question with, “Because you always say that!”. This my friends, warmed my heart in the most cliché way ever. I mean c’mon, how precious for your kids to say, “you always tell me you love me”? Totally made me feel like a 5 star parent in that moment. Then I had a lightbulb moment. What I always say is what they are going to remember. Repetition and consistency is what they are going to remember. So, what am I saying and doing consistently? Then another lightbulb, what is God always saying? Woah!!! Here’s what I have learned recently.

 



The most common phrase in the bible is “Do not be afraid”. While it is debated exactly how many times this phrase is used in its various forms, there is no denying that it is used A LOT.




 

Here are just a few examples:

  1. Be strong and of good courage, do not fear nor be afraid of them; for the LORD your God, He is the One who goes with you. He will not leave you nor forsake you." (Deuteronomy 31:6)

  2. Fear not, for I am with you; Be not dismayed, for I am your God. I will strengthen you, Yes, I will help you, I will uphold you with My righteous right hand.' (Isaiah 41:10)

  3. Yea, though I walk through the valley of the shadow of death, I will fear no evil; For You are with me; Your rod and Your staff, they comfort me. (Psalm 23:4)

  4. Peace I leave with you; my peace I give to you. Not as the world givs do I give to you. Let not your hearts be troubled, neither let them be afraid. (John 14:27)

Repetition implies importance. Therefore, we can conclude, that God really doesn’t want us to be afraid.


God tells us so often to not be afraid because he knows our natural tendency toward fear and anxiety.


Why does God not want us to be afraid? Because He is with us. Most often when the command to not be afraid is mentioned, it is followed with the reason that God is with us. How comforting to know that God is with us even in our fear. One could argue that we are closest to Him in our fear. When we call on Him in our fears, He draws near to us.


“You drew near on the day I called on You, and said, "Do not fear!"” (Lamentations 3:57)

What should we not be afraid of? You name it sister!! Take a second to think of something that scares you in this life. I’m not talking something like spiders, or scary movies. I’m talking deep fears. It may be not getting the approval of others. Maybe it’s not being accepted into a group of friends. Maybe it’s failing at a career. Maybe it’s financial trouble. Maybe it’s losing loved ones to disease or tragedy. Why should we not be afraid of those things? Because God is with you, and all of those things are temporary and only in this world.



How do we not fear? By focusing on God.

When we have a mind focused on eternity, we can have peace and confidence in our        future. “Set your mind on the things above and not on things of this world.” Colossians 3:2  

“You keep him in perfect peace whose mind is stayed on you because he trusts in you.” Isaiah 26:3


PEACE- that’s what you get when you put your trust in God.


The phrase “do not be afraid” is mentioned in the bible anywhere from 115-300 times, it’s worth paying attention to.



Right now, I want you to write down something that brings you fear and then give it to God. Tell Him he is bigger than your fears and you know He is in control and everything is for His good. “And we know that all things work together for good to them that love God, to them who are the called according to his purpose” (Romans 8:28).

47 views3 comments

Recent Posts

See All

3 Comments


Oh my GOODNESS! I have done this to my daughter since she was born as well. I never thought about it until you wrote this post! YES! Repetition is important. And writing about the fear was even more on cue, because I have been dealing with, not my own fear, but trying to help my sister to stop her fear of EVERYTHING. So THANK YOU!

Like
Replying to

You’re welcome. I only have the one child and she is now 13. But she is still my baby and I STILL say, “Guess What?” She still falls for it though because she’s lost in her teenage thoughts and not paying attention to mama…haha. Anyway, thank YOU for starting this blog, because I have needed this support for years.


Like
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page