top of page
Search

Involvement = Opportunity

If you want to be a positive influence to those around you, you have to be involved with those around you. Sure, there is a point at which you can have too much on your plate momma, and sometimes it’s hard to determine how much is too much. For me, it took being too involved in too many things to recognize that I was being pulled in too many directions at the same time and I wasn’t actually serving anyone with my time. I had to cut some things out so I could truly be involved and be present in the things I was involved with. What I found was that being involved in things gave me the opportunity to be a positive influence.


Specifically in the lives of my children and the people they are in contact with every day. I’m talking about their teachers, coaches and other leaders in their lives. I have learned that I do not have to volunteer for everything that comes up, especially now that I have three kids. However, a little goes a long way. By volunteering when I can in my 1st graders classroom, I am able to get to know his teacher, the school staff and his classmates better. Not only does this give me the opportunity to share Christ with them through conversation and hopefully my actions, it also opens doors for conversations between me and my son. I know who he’s talking about when he tells me about things he did with his friends that day at school.


By asking his coaches if I can help in anyway, I’m hopefully exemplifying a life of service like that of Christ, and helping making their job easier. At this point, the coaches in my kid’s lives are volunteers themselves so they could probably use help on the bench/ field or extra snacks.


When we take the time to get involved in people’s lives, we learn more about them. We learn what they need, what they like, how they take their coffee and what makes them happy. This helps us recognize when things are “off”. The more we know, the more we can recognize needs, the better we can try to help meet those needs.


What does scripture say about being involved and invested in the lives of others?


We are commanded all through the bible to love one another (1 Peter 1:22; 1 Peter 4:8; John 15:12; Romans 13:8; Philippians 2:3; Matthew 5:43-48; John 13:34) and that’s just the short list momma. How can we show love? We can be of service to others. That is a beautiful way to show love, through service.

This is also how we "prove" if you will, that we belong to Christ. John 13:35 says, "by this all the people will know the you are my disciples, if you have love for now another" (esv).



We are urged to show hospitality (1 Peter 4:9; 1 Timothy 5:10; Titus 1:8; Leviticus 19:33-34; Luke 14:12-14). Again, these are just a few references in scripture. Don't confuse hospitality with entertainment. Entertainment (while has a place) is about the host; how can they impress the guest. While hospitality is about the guest; how can the host serve the guest.



Here are a few things you can do to try to be more of a positive influence on the leaders in your kid’s lives.


1: The biggest thing I think we can do for those who have any influence on our kids is pray for them.

These men and women spend a lot of time with your kiddos and praying for them to be a positive influence on your child is of the utmost importance. Vice -Versa, it is equally important that we pray for and teach our children to be obedient and kind out of love and respect for their leaders as well. We are told by Peter to , " Be subject for the Lord's sake to every human institution, whether it be to the emperor as supreme, or to governors as sent by him to punish those who do evil and to praise those who do good. For this is the will of God, that by doing good you should put to silence the ignorance of foolish people" ( 1 Peter 2:13-15). By teaching our children to humbly submit to their leaders we are setting a beautiful example of love and respect.


2: Ask if and how you can volunteer in the classroom/ on their field at practice or games. For example, I know my son’s teacher is always open to a parent coming in to read to the class! If your schedule allows, ask if you can come in and help her make copies or cut out projects, anything will help.


3: Ask if you can supply snacks to the classroom or bring them to a game or practice. If your budget allows, this is a great way to show hospitality and service, food! Food is never a bad idea!!


4: See if their teachers need supplies throughout the year. I like to give a gift at the beginning of the school year with things like nice pens, extra pencils, a nice notebook, sticky notes, and other small supplies as a “let’s get this school year started” gift! However, teacher run out of supplies and often have to replace items out of their own pocket. If your budget allows, ask if there is anything they need a couple times of year. I have supplied things like copy paper or extra glue sticks!


5: Take them a coffee instead of getting yourself one. We all treat ourself, try to treat that teacher or coach one day instead. Send them a message and say “Hey, what’s your coffee order? I’m going to bring you a pick me up today!” I promise you this will make their day.



So, get involved. Get to know the men and women who have influence in your kid’s world. That way, you can recognize when they have a need that needs to be met. That way, you can have better conversations with your kids about their leaders. That way, you have the opportunity to show them who Jesus is and how he saves.

11 views2 comments

Recent Posts

See All

2 Comments


mariah28leigh
May 05, 2023

That difference between entertainment and hospitality 👌🏼👌🏼

Like
alybeaird
alybeaird
May 05, 2023
Replying to

Right?!!!

Like
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page