top of page
Search

Hear Me When I Talk

My daughter said something to me one day that I have not been able to stop thinking about. These two little words have stuck with me so much that I decided to make them my “word” for 2024. I have an entire blog post about words for 2024 that you can read here:

 




But let’s get back to these words. She was telling me a story and she could tell I was distracted, but instead of saying, “Hey, listen to me”, she said “Mom, hear me when I talk”. Wow, read that again. Hear me when I talk.

 



This hit me. I know she didn’t realize what exactly she was saying. She simply, in her four-year-old way of communicating, used the wrong word. Or did she? This small statement ignited a spark that has since grown into a fire that cannot be controlled. Do I hear people when they talk to me? I say I’m listening but am I truly hearing what they are saying? Am I truly hearing God when I think I’m listening to Him?

 



I was reminded of a verse, though I wasn’t sure where it was, or even what exactly it was at the time, “those who have ears, let them hear”. So, I googled it. Matthew 11:15 came up “He who has ears, let him hear”.

So, what does it mean to hear versus just listen.

 



Listen: verb - to give one’s attention to a sound

 

Hear: verb - to be told or informed of

 

Both are verbs, or actions, so it takes action on our part to both listen and hear; however, to hear is to be changed, to be informed, to gain knowledge. To simply listen is to be aware of the information, to hear it is to actually process the information.

 

Another verse came to mind as well: “Know this, my beloved brothers: let every person be quick to hear, slow to speak, slow to anger;” James 1:19

 



I am too often quick to speak and slow to hear when I participate in conversations. In regards to conversations with my kids, I often use the excuse of “well I’m trying to teach them something so they need to listen to me”. While that’s not entirely wrong or sinful, I have caught myself not giving them the opportunity to fully explain or express themselves because “I know best”. And though I may, it’s still important to let them communicate so they can even better know and learn that I know best (sometimes).

 

They presented their case, and I’m still right. By letting them have a say or get a word in, they learn more about my direction or discipline reasons and aren’t left with a feeling of being unheard or misunderstood. And sometimes, they even change my mind, or make me see things differently, this is where I have to apologize to them, ouch.

 

What does God want us to hear? Him! He wants us to hear him when he speaks to us. Why does he want us to hear him? So he can teach us.


“Call to me and I will answer you, and I will tell you great and hidden things that you have not known.” Jeremiah 33:3


How does he speak to us? Through his word.

Hebrews 4:12 says, “For the word of God is living and active, sharper than any two-edged sword, piercing to the division of soul and of spirit, of joints and of marrow, and discerning the thoughts and intentions of the heart.” 

And 2 Timothy 3:16 says, “All Scripture is breathed out by God and profitable for teaching, for reproof, for correction, and for training in righteousness so that we can be equipped for every good work.”


Then, once I hear and understand, I am to act!

James 1:22 says “But be doers of the word, and not hearers only, deceiving yourselves.”


So, my new prayer is that I actually hear people when they talk to me. That I gain knowledge and then act on it. What did they say? How do they feel? Do they need something? Can I help supply that need? How can I be a doer in this situation?


Finally, am I hearing God when he speaks to me? Through his word or through other means? Am I acting on his word?


Let’s have open ears and hearts to others and God and let’s not just be hearers but be dowers as well.

19 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comentários


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page