top of page
Search

You Didn't Even Ask Me...


My son loves to mountain bike. Last summer he did two different week-long mountain biking camps and could not wait until the next year to do it again. Fast forward to the next year. He participated again in two different mountain biking camps and loved every single minute of both of them. So, when I heard about an after-school mountain biking club I jumped all over that and signed him up quicker than you can say “let’s add one more thing to our after-school activities to do list”. When the time came, I said to my son, “Dude, I signed you up for after school mountain biking camp! One a week you get to mountain bike after school with a group of kids just like you did this summer but it’s for the school year!”

To which he responded, “No thanks”.

Speechless, confused, and annoyed are all words that accurately describe my emotions at that moment. “What do you mean? I thought you loved mountain biking camp?”

“I did!”

Getting more annoyed, “Then why don’t you want to do it after school?”

“I just wanted to do it in the summer, that was fun but I want to do other things in too.” He so innocently and honestly responded.

“Well buddy, I already paid for it and you loved it, you are going to love it, I promise.” Because I was in control.

“You didn’t even ask me if I wanted you to do that.” He whispered from the back seat.


It was an eye-opening conversation for me and I could feel in that moment the Holy Spirit saying to me, “Aly, how many times have you done things “for God” because you knew it was something he loved, but you didn’t even ask him if he wanted that right now? That conversation went something like this:

“God, I signed up to host a D-Group at my house with college girls! Aren’t you so excited?”

To which God responded, “No thanks”.

Speechless, confused, and annoyed are all words that accurately describe my emotions at that moment. “What do you mean? You love for your disciples to make more disciples, don’t you?”

“Of course, in my time. But this season I want you to focus on making your kids disciples.” The always honest God answered.

“Well, I already signed up and committed, you’re going to love it, I promise.” I said, because I still like to have control.

“You didn’t even pray about that decision before you made it.” God whispered from my heart.


We should never assume we know what God wants just because it is “good” or because it is something he loves. I pray I never stop asking God what he wants from me in different seasons of life, even from day to day.


God wants communication. He made himself totally accessible through the blood of Jesus when He died for us. See John 3:16 and Ephesians 2:8-9.




God has a plan for us, and it is for our good, see Jeremiah 29:11 and Romans 8:28.



We have to allow Him to work in and through us, see Psalm 32:8 and Proverbs 3:5-6.



God wants us to be joyful and he wants to give us good things, see Psalm 37:4 and Matthew 7:11.


Something to think about: When was the last time you asked God what he wanted from you? Take some time now to ask God if you are in the right path. Ask him to guide you where he wants you to be.


Bible Verse: “I will instruct you and teach you in the way you should go; I will counsel you with my eye upon you.” Psalm 32:8.


Prayer: Father God, guide me in your ways. Teach me your statutes so that I may obey them. May I never make a decision without prayerfully asking for guidance first. Give me wisdom and knowledge to discern the things I need to say yes too and the things I need to say no to. May my life and actions reflect your goodness.





20 views2 comments

Recent Posts

See All

2 Comments


daizeydee33.hh
Dec 11, 2023

I absolutely love the prayers at the end of each blog entry. I copy each one in my prayer notebook so I can go back and read - USE - them when my own heart can't seem to find the words to bring to the feet of our Lord. Thank you so much for this incredible gift you've given to and shared with us all. xoxo

Like
alybeaird
alybeaird
Dec 11, 2023
Replying to

Thank you!!!

Like
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page