top of page
Search

What Doesn't Kill You ...

What doesn’t kill us …


We’ve all heard the phrase “what doesn’t kill us makes us stronger.” This is usually to remind you that when you’re going through a hard time, you will come out of that situation stronger. I’ve heard it compared to pregnancy, some people are graced with a very easy pregnancy, some people are not. And the waiting is always worth it, am I right? All the uncomfortable body positions and weird walking make your body stronger and ready to tackle the life of motherhood.


There are many verses in scripture that talk about perseverance. Specifically through trials and tribulations so you come out of those trials and tribulations closer to God and stronger as a believer. What doesn't kill you, changes you.



"But you, take courage! Do not let your hands be weak, for your work shall be rewarded." 2 Chronicles 15:7


"Wait for the LORD; be strong, and let your heart take courage; wait for the LORD!" Psalm 27:14


"Rejoice in hope, be patient in tribulation, be constant in prayer." Romans 12:12


I think parenting can be like this as well. Sometimes the conversations we have to have with our kids, or the situations we have to go through with them can be very painful and trying. However, we come out of those situations and conversations closer to each other and stronger.


Just like our kids, learn to trust us, we learn to trust God.


What doesn’t kill you does indeed make you stronger.


But what if it does kill you?


What if “it” destroys a part of you?

What if “it” changes you forever?


I think that’s the point sometimes. After all, when we are made new in Christ we are just that, new! The old has DIED.


“Therefore, if anyone is in Christ, he is a new creation. The old has passed away; behold, the new has come.” 2 Corinthians 5:17


“ I have been crucified with Christ. It is no longer I who live, but Christ who lives in me. And the life I now live in the flesh I live by faith in the Son of God, who loved me and gave himself for me.” Galatians 2:20


“And he said to all, “If anyone would come after me, let him deny himself and take up his cross daily and follow me.” Luke 9:23




Either way, you’re close to God and you look more like Christ. So, if it doesn’t kill you, you will be stronger. If it does kill you, then you probably look less like you and more like Christ. So, Live or Die, God wins.




8 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page