top of page
Search

The People Pleaser

Here’s the thing, I think it’s ok to be a people pleaser. I think it’s ok to go out of your way to serve others. This idea is sprinkled all through the bible. There are so many versus that encourage you, as a believer, to put others before yourself. It’s a simple idea. So why is it so hard?

It’s weird, it’s not normal, and it’s against the whole “I’ve got to put me first” thing, but Jesus asks us to sacrifice and serve others.

This goes against the world more than any other idea in my opinion. Our society today preaches self-care. No, it riots for self-care. If you don’t have “me time”, the world will tell you that you are doing something wrong. You are doing yourself a disservice. You are going to fail at anything and everything because you are not putting yourself first.

I recently saw the below phrase on an instagram add.





However, the bible tells us that, “the last will be first, and the first last” (Matthew 20:16 ESV). So, by putting others first, we become last, which makes us first. Ok, let’s break it down a little more.


Jesus tells us to, “love one another just as I have loved you” (John 13:34 ESV). So how does Jesus love us?

He died for you. Now we die to ourselves for him daily. “I have been crucified with Christ. It is no longer I who live, but Christ who lives in me. And the life I now live in the flesh I live by faith in the Son of God, who loved me and gave himself for me” (Galatians 2:20 ESV).

Where does this love stop? At what point does God say “Ok, you’ve hit your limit”? The short answer? Never.

“For I am sure that neither death nor life, nor angels nor rulers, nor things present nor things to come, nor powers, nor height nor depth, nor anything else in all creation, will be able to separate us from the love of God in Christ Jesus our Lord” (Romans 8:38-39 ESV).

Wow, what a comforting word. Nothing will separate me from the love of God.



So, when do we stop loving people? When do we say, “Ok, that’s all I’ve got”? You guessed it. Never.


Look I didn’t say this was going to be easy. I certainly didn’t, and won’t, say that I have this skill figured out. I fail every single day. However, Jesus is the goal. We are to look to Him as the blueprint of how to love people.

What do we do about our own cups now? Let them drain and crack and break? Consider this. Philippians 2:3-4 says “Do nothing from selfish ambition or conceit, but in humility count others more significant than yourselves. Let each of you look not only to his own interests, but also to the interest of others.” So yes, look to your interests and fill your cup momma!! With Jesus and the joy that comes from him.

Abide in Jesus, and your cup will remain so full that you can’t help but pour from it into those around you.



Don't forget to check out the Manna for Momma Store!! You can get the "Fill your cup" Mug seen above!

Also, the "but first, Jesus" tee is a perfect reminder to keep him, and others, first!!









26 views3 comments

Recent Posts

See All

3 Comments


mariah28leigh
Mar 04, 2022


Like

auntiesam1578
Mar 04, 2022

Even though I'm not a Mama, I needed this so much today!! Thank you for being such a wonderful blessing!! ❤

Like
alybeaird
alybeaird
Mar 04, 2022
Replying to

Thank you!!!

Like
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page