top of page
Search

Thank You Mr. Dennis

I will never forget when a Sunday school teacher, Mr. Dennis, asked our 4th grade class, “Who here knows Michael Jordan?” That was in 1998 so everyone knew who Michael Jordan was. Everyone raised their hands. Our teacher, the father of one my of best friends, followed up with, “wow, what is he like?” Some of the boys began to describe his athletic abilities and exclaim his greatness. Some started to describe him based off of what others knew about him, what they had heard others say about him and believed to be true.  Some of us, simply mentioned what he was known for, we didn’t know much but we knew his name and what he did. Mr. Dennis then asked us how Michael Jordan made us feel when we spoke to him. How he treated us when we were around him. In confusion, you can imagine all these 4th graders responses. Most of us tried to explain to him that we didn’t actually know Michael Jordan, we had never actually met him in person. We did not have a relationship with him. To which this teacher said something that made my mind explode and shifted my heart and mind directly towards Jesus. He said, “So you don’t actually know Michael Jordan, you just know about him? Do you know Jesus?” BOOM!!!! Ya’ll, when I say this changed my life, that is no exaggeration, this made me repent and give my life to Jesus that very day! I realized in that moment I was not in a relationship with Jesus, at 9 years old, I knew I needed to know Jesus personally and not just know about Him. I needed that relationship.

 



Thank you Mr. Dennis.

 

You see, most people can tell you who Jesus was, who he is. Most people know His abilities, his miracles, what he did and can do. Most people, even the ones who don’t believe IN Him, can tell you what what he’s known for.

But, they can’t tell you how He makes them feel when they speak to him, or how He treated them when they were around Him because they don’t actually know Him. They don’t have a relationship with Him.

 



Do you know Jesus? Or do you know about Jesus?

 

My prayer is that my life will not just allow people to See Jesus through me but that they will Experience Jesus through me.

 



As a mom, I pray this most for my children. That they will experience Jesus and know Him personally. Not just know about Him.

 

Here are a few scriptures I like to pray on this subject:

 

“And so, from the day we heard, we have not ceased to pray for you, asking that you may be filled with the knowledge of his will in all spiritual wisdom and understanding”. Colossians 1:9

 

“And this is eternal life, that they know you, the only true God, and Jesus Christ whom you have sent”. John 17:3

 



“…that the God of our Lord Jesus Christ, the Father of glory, may give you the Spirit of wisdom and of revelation in the knowledge of him,” Ephesians 1:17

 

“and to know the love of Christ that surpasses knowledge, that you may be filled with all the fullness of God.” Ephesians 3:19

 

So, thank you Mr. Dennis for asking that question. Thank you for opening my eyes to the reality that is my relationship status with Jesus and directing me towards Christ.

 

Mommas, may we live our lives in such a way that is worthy of the Lord (Philippians 1:27-30) in a way that allows others to experience Christ and truly know Him.

41 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page