top of page
Search

Spiritual Strength Training



I recently started incorporating weight lifting into my workout routine. I’m a bike and

run type of girl, but as I creep into my thirties, I’m becoming more aware of how important strength training is. Let me just tell you. I thought I was in great shape, and in some aspect I am. I’ve completed an ironman triathlon which is no walk in the park. Although I did walk a bit of the marathon portion of my race in an actual park but anyways… I didn’t realize just how weak some of my muscles were until I started to train them to be used properly. I also thought I knew all there was to know about lifting weights, how hard could it be? Just pick it up right? Then I got with a professional and realized I, in fact, did not know all there was to know about weight lifting. There was much to learn. I wasn’t doing anything wrong before. I was working out. I was staying active and moving my body, and I was benefiting from that. However, I was not getting all I could get out of my workouts because I wasn’t taking advantage of all there was for me. I was doing a little here and a little there, but until I started to really invest in learning how to strengthen my muscles and spend the time it took to work at it, I wasn’t gaining muscle like I could and should. When I started to invest the time and effort and consistent discipline, I started to grow.

 




The same can be said for our spiritual muscles. We don’t realize how weak we are until we have to use those muscles. When hard times hit and we have to use the muscle of perseverance. When we lose a job and we have to exercise the muscles of trust. When kids are a lot and we have to work out with patience. Sure, I was doing a little devotional here and little bible app reading there, and I was benefiting from that. However, I wasn’t getting all that I could out of my readings because I wasn’t taking advantage of all there was for me. The full word of God. We strengthen these muscles by training them. How do we train them? By being in the word and actively looking for ways to use these muscles daily. When we come to the professional, Jesus, we can truly learn what it means to grow in the Lord.

 



What does scripture say about training our spiritual muscles?

 

“The things you have learned and received and heard and seen in me, practice these things, and the God of peace will be with you.” Philippians 4:9.

 

“But he who practices the truth comes to the Light, so that his deeds may be manifested as having been wrought with God.” John 3:21

 

“Therefore, bretheren, bee all the more diligent to make certain about His calling and choosing you; for as long as you practice these things, you will never stumble.” 2 Peter 1:10

 

“By this the children of God and the children of the devil are obvious; anyone who does not practice righteousness is not of God, nor the one who does not love his brother.” 1 John 3:10

 

“But solid food is for the mature, who because of practice have their senses trained to discern good and evil.” Hebrews 5:14

 



So, momma, work those muscles. Stay strong and grow in the word of God so you can be an example to your littles.

12 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page