top of page
Search

Scripture for your Home.

As a momma who works from home, it can be easy to get in a routine and forget about how important your job actually is as the matriarch of your family. I know I can easily ride the train of tasks every day without giving any thought to them. Just going through the motions. I felt like I was leaving God out of my everyday life, but I wasn’t quite sure how to include him in the boring stuff.

We are called to Abide in Jesus. “Abide in me, and I in you. As the branch cannot bear fruit by itself, unless it abides in the vine, neither can you, unless you abide in me.” (John 15:4 ESV). What does that look like? How can we truly abide and include Jesus in every aspect of our lives. We have to start with the small stuff. The seemingly insignificant stuff.

One of my favorite ways to communicate with God is through scripture. I sat down one day and made a list of all the rooms in my house. Then I started to pray for everything that happens in those rooms on a daily basis. I also thanked God for the events and activities that take place in those rooms.

I wrote some versus on sticky notes or pieces of paper and I put them in each room where I would see them as I was cleaning, or getting kids ready, or cooking everyday. These little notes remind me daily to be grateful for even the small things. They remind me to include God in every aspect of my life because he cares about every aspect of my life.

Here are some scripture references for each room of your house, as well as a short prayer.



For your kitchen:


“Blessed are those who hunger and thirst for righteousness, for they will be satisfied” (Matthew 5:6).


Father, may my family always hunger and thirst for righteousness. May we all remember that true satisfaction only comes from you.


For your dining room:


And day by day, attending the temple together and breaking bread in their homes, they received their food with glad and generous hearts,” (Acts 2:46).


Father, help me to remember to prepare these meals with a a glad and generous heart, and may my family receive it with the same hearts. As we gather together, let us be full of joy.



For your living room:


And let us consider how to stir up one another to love and good works, not neglecting to meet together, as is the habit of some, but encouraging one another, and all the more as you see the day drawing near.” (Hebrews 10:24-25).


Father, as we gather in this space, weather that be to relax and watch a movie or have a family meeting to discuss a serious topic, let us always remember to encourage one another in love.



For your kids' rooms:


And so, from the day we heard, we have not ceased to pray for you, asking that you may be filled with the knowledge of his will in all spiritual wisdom and understanding,” (Colossians 1:9).


Father God, let my children be filled with the knowledge of the Holy Spirit, let them grow in knowledge and wisdom so they can live a life worthy of Jesus Christ.



For the master bedroom:


He answered, “Have you not read that he who created them from the beginning made them male and female, and said, ‘Therefore a man shall leave his father and his mother and hold fast to his wife, and the two shall become one flesh’? So they are no longer two but one flesh. What therefore God has joined together, let not man separate.” (Matthew 19:4-6).


Father God, help me to always remember that my husband and I are one. We are a team. May nothing in this world tear us apart.


For your office:


Whatever you do, work heartily, as for the Lord and not for men,” (Colossians 3:23).


Father, help me to remember that I need to live and work in light of eternity. My job is to bring glory to you. Show me how I can do that in my vocation daily. May this space be a space that brings glory to you and respect and love to those I work with.


For your bathrooms:


“let us draw near with a true heart in full assurance of faith, with our hearts sprinkled clean from an evil conscience and our bodies washed with pure water.” (Hebrews 10:22).


Lord, just as we all wash clean in this room with water, help me to remember that I am cleansed by you. Create in me a pure and clean heart so that others will see you.

For your laundry room:


Wash me thoroughly from my iniquity, and cleanse me from my sin!” (Psalm 51:2).


Father God, I am a sinner. I sin daily. Forgive me for my failures and wash away those stains. Thank you so much for mercy and forgiveness that I don't deserve.









11 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page