top of page
Search

Scars are proof of LIFE


Stretchmarks… yikes… With my first two pregnancies, I did not experience those that we do not speak of; however, with my third pregnancy, it’s like my body saved up all the stretch and marked me up to the fullest. I’m going to be really honest with you here, at first, I really struggled with this. I was embarrassed, almost ashamed of those marks. I saw those marks as ugly and discouraging and a sign of weakness.

After some time, and a come to Jesus conversation with my sister in law, I started to see those marks differently. I realized that these marks are proof that I grew a life inside me. Proof that there was a baby in the world now that was alive and with me. Proof that while pain was part of the process, it was necessary to bring new life. That baby is still growing, and he will continue to grow with my help. I now see these scars as beautiful and encouraging and a sign of significant strength and love.



Then the Holy Spirit spoke to me.


These marks on Jesus’ body are proof that I grew a new life in Jesus. Proof that I am alive and with Him now. Proof that while pain was part of his death, it was necessary to bring me new life. I am still growing and hopefully will continue to grow with the help of the Holy Spirit. While some who don’t know Jesus personally may see his scars as ugly and discouraging and a sign of weakness, I hope that as a believer you see them as beautiful and encouraging and a sign of significant strength and love.



Something to think about: Next time you notice how different your body is, in one way or another, after having babies, let that be a reminder of what Jesus did for you so you could have new life. Then share that message with someone who doesn’t know Jesus, because that is our ultimate calling, to share the gospel.


Bible Verse: “And when he had said this, He showed them both His hands and His side. The disciples then rejoiced when they saw the Lord”. John 20:20



Prayer: Father God, thank you for sending Jesus to suffer and die for me so that I may have new life in you. Thank you for his scars, may they be a reminder to me of new life. Give me courage to share my scars with others so that they may see the new life that is possible in you through them.

9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page