top of page
Search

Prayer Schedule

A couple of weeks ago, while we were going through our nighttime routine and getting ready for bed, when asked if he was ready to say his bedtime prayers my 7-year-old son answered with, “I don’t know what to pray for”.


This really hit me hard. I felt that response deep in my soul. I remembered many times when I had I been in a place where I just didn’t know what to say to Jesus? There were many sleepless nights, many toddler tantrums, many moments dealing with pregnancy issues or postpartum emotions, and in all of these moments I knew I needed Jesus but I didn’t know what to say or what to pray for or where to start.




I wrote another blog post on this called “All they have to say is Ma Ma” and you can read that here:


But this got me thinking, maybe we needed a little encouragement and structure in our prayer life. That way, on the days we didn’t really know what to pray for, we have something we can start with. Here is what we have come up with as a family.



Monday= Missions: In this category we pray for missionaries that we know or have heard of. Right now, we have friends who are on mission in Nicaragua and other friends in Africa, so we pray for them. We also pray for our pastors and Sunday school teachers on this day.


Tuesday= Friends and Neighbors: In this category we pray for different friends. I ask my kids what friend they want to pray for that day and why. This has really opened the door of communication in our family. I love hearing why my kids want to pray for their friends. One example is my first grader wanted to pray for one of his friends whose family has a farm. He wanted to pray that they were safe on their farm because his friend had shared with my son that sometimes it can be dangerous. My toddler wanted to pray that her friend got to play with the toys she liked because that made her happy. It’s the little things ya’ll.


Wednesday= Wellness: This is the day we pray for those we know who are sick or hurting. I ask my kids if anyone they know is sick or if they have noticed anyone who seems sad. This has really prompted them to pay more attention to the emotions of those around them. We also express gratitude and thanksgiving for our health on this day.


Thursday= Leaders/ Co-Workers/ Teachers: On this day we pray for those in a position of authority. My kids pray for their teachers, and this has really helped them develop a heart of respect and love for those who lead them daily. My kids also hear my husband and I pray for our co-workers and leaders.


Friday= Family: This day is probably my favorite. This is a wonderful opportunity to voice our gratitude and love for each other. It’s very sweet to pray out oud for each other together.


Now we start every morning with a bible verse and a category of prayer. I have really loved asking the kids who they want to pray for in these categories. I truly believe this has helped all of us progress in making prayer ma daily habit and I have often found that by having a place to start in prayer has led to a deeper prayer life. Often once I start praying in one of these categories, I am led to other areas of prayer. As with most other things in life, sometimes starting is the hardest part. This daily practice has helped everyone in my family start the habit of prayer.



Bible Verse: “Pray without ceasing” 1 Thessalonians 5:17 ESV.



13 views2 comments

Recent Posts

See All

2 Comments


mariah28leigh
May 05, 2023

Romans 8:26 has always been such a comfort when my soul sometimes feels too weary and my brain too much a mess to even utter a prayer.

Like
alybeaird
alybeaird
May 05, 2023
Replying to

Love that!

Like
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page