top of page
Search

Patience and Endurance

I have been reading through the book of Colossians and while I have read through it a few times now, when I read Chapter 1 verse 11 for probably the 4th time, it hit me differently.


May you be strengthened with all power, according to his glorious might, for all endurance and patience with joy” (Colossians 1:11 ESV).





There are two words here that seem to initially be opposites to me. Patience and endurance. My simple-minded brain thought, “patience means to wait, endurance means to push through”. So, I looked up the Greek words for “patience” and “endurance”.


Turns out, they are basically the same. Interestingly enough. Both have definitions that include words like, “constancy” and “steadfastness” and “perseverance”.


To be patient, is to endure.

To endure, is to be patient.


If motherhood is not the one area of life where need both of these traits daily, I don’t know what is.


I find myself impatient with my children almost every single day. Tell me I’m not the only one. It’s not my favorite fruit of the spirit but oh doesn’t it have the potential to be the sweetest. When I find myself in a moment of impatience, I am reminded how patient my heavenly father is with me. When my toddler says “no” to me for the 675th time in a day, I think of all the times I have told God “no”, or just flat out ignored him, and I am humbled.


What does scripture say about patience?


“Love is patient, love is kind. It does not envy, it does not boast, it is not proud” (1 Corinthians 13:4 ESV).


We can show love with patience. So much easier said than done but what a goal to work towards.


There are also times when I feel like I don’t really have a purpose, and all the little things I do every day on this motherhood journey don’t really matter. It can be hard to endure and press on to the goal. What is the goal? To raise disciples who make more disciples.


What does scripture say about endurance?


“And let us not grow weary of doing good, for in due season we will reap, if we do not give up” (Galatians 6:9 ESV).


So don’t grow weary momma, don’t give up, you will reap the reward of your perseverance and endurance.


Then there’s that last word, Joy. Not only will we need to be patient and persevere through trials, we will do it with joy! Why? Because we know WHY we are being steadfast. We see the reason for the journey.


“And we know that for those who love God all things work together for good, or those who are called according to his purpose” (Romans 8:28 ESV).


All things work together for good when we seek God’s will and live out our purpose!





So, I pray this for you now momma, that you may be strengthened with all power, according to his glorious might, for all endurance and patience with joy!






4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page