top of page
Search

Organization

Updated: Dec 10, 2022

I love organization. Yep, I’m that person. I legitimately get so much joy out of things like matching containers, clear bins for cereal, and labels on EVERYTHING. Here’s the thing though, containers get full. Bins start to overflow and you have to reorganize and purge. The idea is to get rid of broken items, or items that are of no value, and make room for the things you need.

This time of year specifically, I like to reorganize the kids toys and clothes because I know they will be getting new items for Christmas. So, I like to go through what they have and get rid of toys they don't use or itmes that are broken or clothes that don't fit anymore.

You are a container, Momma. You can only hold so much. What are you holding? This can be very convicting for many people. It was and continues to be for me. The people you follow on Instagram, are they spiritually filling your cup? Or are they planting seeds of jealousy and lust? The book you are reading, or listening to if you’re like me, are they growing your soul or shriveling it up? The shows you watch on Netflix. Are they filling you up with knowledge and wisdom or bad language and negative content? Hear me out, I love a good crime drama just as much as the next lady; however, I need to check myself every now and then and make sure I’m putting positive, Spirit filled thoughts and ideas, books, music and images in my mind as well.



I’ve talked about this before. If you recall, your cup overflows with what you put into it. Your organization bins and containers get unorganized and need to be cleaned out and purged. When I feel like I am getting overwhelmed in the mom department of life, I like to take a step back and go, “ok what do I need to clean out here?” Take a mental survey of what is in your mind. What have I been watching, reading, following, and listening to? Is there anything that is “broken” or of this world that I need to purge and make room for the things that bring value, the things that I need, like Bible time, or alone time with my hubby or kiddos? Are there clothes that "don't fit" anymore because you are a believer? Are there actions that are earthly that you need to take off and put away? Paul says in Colossians to put to death what is "eqarthly in you, sexual immprality, impurity, passion, evil desire, and covetousness, which is idolatry." and to "put on... kindness, humility, meekness, and patience" (Colossians 3: 5-12).




Let me tell you, the more I am in the Word, the more I feel connected to Jesus. This is a non-negotiable for me. This is the one thing I have to make time for. I have to do this often Momma, don’t think it’s a one and done thing. Continuously reorganize your thoughts and what you are putting into your life.

This might be challenging for some. It may feel like suffering. If you are asked to give up something that you really enjoy in the flesh, something of this world that you may feel like you need. Remember this, Paul tells the church at Philippi that the things we gain on this earth are not worth anything. What is most valuable and important in life is our relationship with Christ. “But whatever gain I had, I counted as loss for the sake of Christ. Indeed, I count everything as loss because of the surpassing worth of knowing Christ Jesus my Lord. For His sake I have suffered the loss of all things and count them as rubbish, in order that I may gain Christ” (Philippians 3:7-8).


Bible Verse: “Finally, brothers, whatever is true, whatever is honorable, whatever is just, whatever is pure, whatever is lovely, whatever is commendable, if anything is excellence, if there is anything worthy of praise, about these things. What you have learned and received and heard and seen in me – practice these things, and the God of peace will be with you” (Philippians 4:8-9).


Something to think about: Is there something in your container that you need to purge? Pray and ask God to reveal to you anything in your life that is taking up room in your heart so there can be more room for Him.



Prayer: Father God, show me what I need to purge from my life. Give me the courage and boldness to cut away the things that are taking my focus from you. Help me to find times in the day to get into your Word because I know that is where the root of abiding in you is. Help me get rid of the broken things in my life so I have room for the things that add value, joy and hope.

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page