top of page
Search

No One Is Below Being Served

We talked in the last blog about the idea that no one is above serving because Jesus Christ served and we are called to be like Jesus.


Part 2

No one is below being served.


Jesus washed Judas’ feet. How often do we pick and choose who we serve? Yikes. This is a harder concept for me personally, because I have no trouble serving my friends. For example, I love a nifty gifty (for my fellow “The Office” fans you get this reference). I LOVE to give a gift. I love to bring donuts to a friend who I know had a rough day with their kiddos the day before. I love to bring dinner to a new mom and her family. How we treat people says a lot about who we are and who we identify with. When we serve others, we are showing them we love them. When we serve strangers, we are showing them that God loves them. When we serve in a way that is inconvenient for us, we are putting other’s needs before our own. When we serve our enemies, those who stand against us, we are truly exemplifying what Jesus is. Love.



Think about this for a second, in John 13, Jesus washes the feet of the disciples (John 13:12). Jesus washed Judas’ feet. Read that again. Jesus washed the feet of the man he “knew who was to betray him” (John 13:11). Then he died for you and me and every other human in this universe. Wow! If Jesus served and we are called to be like Jesus, then we must serve as well. Could you do that? I don’t know if I could. I know I couldn’t without the aid of the Holy Spirit. We must serve those around us, even if in our earthy eyes they don’t deserve to be served.


Bible Verse: “Let each of you look not only to his own interests, but also to the interests of others” (Philippians 2:4).



Something to think about: Is there someone in your life that you don’t think deserves to be served? Think about why you feel that way and pray for God to soften your heart to see them the way he sees them.


Prayer: Father, help me to recognize the needs of those around me. Open my heart to love others the way you love them. Help me to see that there is no one below being served. Show me who I can serve for you today.








12 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page