top of page
Search

Lois and Eunice

These two women are some of my favorite figures in the Bible. Have you ever heard of them? They are the grandmother and mother of Timothy. Timothy accompanied Paul on his missionary journeys. While they are only briefly mentioned in the Bible, their faith and how they demonstrated it, clearly made an impact on Timothy. Paul mentions them regarding Timothy’s faith. He says, “I am reminded of your sincere faith, a faith that dwelt first in your grandmother Lois and your mother Eunice, and now, I am sure, dwells in you as well” (2 Timothy 1:5).


There are two words in this verse that stand out to me. The first is the word sincere. This means real, authentic faith. Faith that is not just talked about, but lived out and visible to others. These women practiced what they preached. They did not just talk the talk, they walked the walk.


The second word is dwell. This means to live in, or to inhabit. Their faith was constant. Their faith was consistent. They lived in their faith and their faith lived in them. Lois and Eunice must have had hard days, but their faith was so solid that it was passed down generations and Paul saw that!


Lois raised Eunice and Eunice raised Timothy in the scriptures. 2 Timothy 3:14-15 says, “But as for you, continue in what you have learned and have firmly believed, knowing from whom you learned it and how from childhood you have been acquainted with the sacred writings, which are able to make you wise for salvation through faith in Christ Jesus”.


This is a reminder to me that how I live out my faith directly impacts those around me, most importantly and specifically, my children. What I am teaching them, through my words and actions, is setting a foundation for who they will become. Do I live the kind if life and have the kind of faith that will impact my children so permanently that those, they come in contact with will see it? I know I don't always, but I pray I do more often than not. I pray you do too momma. Let's pray for each other in this way.


We are not perfect, just like Lois and Eunice I’m sure were not perfect, but we can be consistent and constant in our faithfulness to the Lord. I am reminded of this verse from Paul in Philippians, "Not that I have already obtained this or am already perfect, but I press on to make it my own, because Christ Jesus has made me his own." Philippians 3:12 ESV. So press on momma. Keep trying. So keep seeking Jesus, keep studying His word. Keep your eyes on Him, because your kiddos are watching you.




Bible Verse: “I am reminded of your sincere faith, a faith that dwelt first in your grandmother Lois and your mother Eunice, and now, I am sure, dwells in you as well” (2 Timothy 1:5).


Something to think about: Does your faith, and how you act on it, set you apart in the eyes of your children? What are some practical ways you can show your faith to your kids?


Prayer: Father God, let my faith be so strong and consistent that my children long to follow you. Let me remember that I am their example and you are mine. Help me to be loving like Jesus and bold like Paul. Call my children to you Jesus. May they accept you as their Lord and Savior and live completely dedicated to you. May I also live completely dedicated to you. I pray for my momma friends who are also striving to live a life worthy of you. Give them perservance as well, as we press on through motherhood together.




Don't forget to check out the Manna for Momma shop, we've got super cute Tee's like this "but first, Jesus" shirt!! More merchandise coming soon!





11 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

댓글


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page