top of page
Search

It Starts At Home

I’m a dreamer you guys. I get big ideas All of the time. I get really excited about the potential of said ideas. I get so excited about the potential, and the end result, that I tend to skip or miss the beginning and middle parts, and everyone knows the end can’t come without the beginning and middle. I found myself one day wanting to help as many people as I could with small acts of kindness and love. For example, I took donuts to my kids’ daycare just to say “thank you for taking care of my kids for most of their days”. I took coffee to a friend who was up all night with her baby just to say, “you’ve got this Momma, hang tight”.

I volunteered to help host an event with my church because that is what you do as a believer, you serve others. Now, you’re probably reading this thinking, these are good things, where is she going with this? Here’s the thing, while I was serving my friends and community in ways that are honorable and I truly believe I was giving glory to my God, I was neglecting time and servanthood in my home. I was not looking for ways to show my husband I loved him with acts of kindness and love. I wasn’t seeking ways to be more present in my kids’ lives and find ways to show them I love God, their Daddy and them so much.

While studying Acts, I came across the key verse for this book, Acts 1:8 which says, “But you will receive power when the Holy Spirit comes on you, and you will be my witnesses in Jerusalem, and in all Judea and Samaria, and to the ends of the earth.” The second half of this verse is what the Holy Spirit used to teach me something. Jesus was telling his disciples that they would go and be His witnesses, to the ends of the earth! However, he started with Jerusalem, he started at home. Light bulb moment, The Spirit said, “Aly, you need to start at home, where you are. Be an example and a light there. Don’t get so excited about reaching the ends of the earth with my love that you miss out on the people right in front of you.” That’s what I heard that night in my study.



While we are called to go and be a witness to the ends of the earth, don’t miss out on those closest to you along the way. How can we be God’s love to our spouses and our kids? Then, how can we grow and show God’s love to our neighbors and friends? Serve in love and be a witness by how you live your life, especially to those who know and love you the most.




Bible Verse: “But you will receive power when the Holy Spirit has come upon you, and you will be my witnesses in Jerusalem, and in all Judea and Samaria, and to the ends of the earth” (Acts 1:8).


Something to think about: What are a few practical ways you can show your spouse and kids you love them today?


Prayer: Father God, open my eyes to ways I can be a witness to those who are closest to me. Help me to show love in servanthood to my husband and children. May the Holy Spirit move in and through me in ways that my family sees you God.

3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page