top of page
Search

How to Bible Study: The Precept Method

Let me first start by saying if you are not already reading the bible daily (or at least most days) then start small. The key is to START! If you’re not ready for structure and schedules then start with a single book. May I suggest John or Acts. However, if you been wanting to dig deeper into the word but you just don’t know how? You’re not alone sister. I have been doing precept bible studies for many years now and they have truly changed the way I study and even just read the bible. I do these studies with a group of women at my church and I will say doing them with a group of women is so beneficial but you totally can do them on your own as well. I got a few resources from the precept website you can visit here:



We are called to abide in the word, “So Jesus said to the Jews who had believed him, “If you abide in my word, you are truly my disciples, and you will know the truth, and the truth will set you free.” John 8:31-32 ESV. What does it mean to abide in the word? The word abide means to “remain” or “stay”, to “dwell” in. So, we are called to live in the word of God. How do we do that practically? We literally get in it every single day.


I wanted to share the Precept Method with you all because I have learned so much from the word of God through this method of learning.

I encourage you to always start with prayer. Ask God to help you “grow in wisdom and understanding” so you can “walk in a manner worthy of the Lord” (Colossians 1:9-14).




The basic 3 principals are:

Observation

Interpretation

Application


Observation: What does the text say? Literally. Start with the 5 W’s and an H! Who wrote it? Who was it written to? What is it about? When was it written/ what was happening in society at that time? Where was the writer? Where was the audience? Why was it written? How was the message it received?

Make lists of common phrases or repeated words- this will be helpful in seeing patterns and help with interpretation, which is our next step.




Interpretation: What does it mean? Remembering this, all scripture is God breathed. (2 Timothy 3:16-17). Quite literally, what does the text mean. Remember the context as well that you noted when you observed the text. Write down what you think the author meant and what message he wanted his readers to receive. How did he want the reader to respond. Which bring us to application.




Application: What did the text teach you about God? What God reveal to you about yourself? How should YOU respond to this new knowledge? Write it down! I love to keep a notebook with things I’ve learned from scripture. Plus, writing it down will help you remember and retain that new knowledge.




I hope you can check out the precept website for more information and I pray that you grow in knowledge as you dig deeper into the word. The bible is full of the love of our father and he wants you to know more!




Bible Verse:

"All scripture is God breathed and is useful for teaching, rebuking, correcting and training in righteousness, so that the servant of God may be thoroughly equipped for every good work" 2 Timothy 3:16-17 ESV.



7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page