top of page
Search

How Quickly We Forget

My husband travels for work some, and if your spouse travels for work then I’m sure you can relate to the actual fact that everything goes wrong when your helper is out of town, am I right?


On one particular occasion, whilst my fixer of all things of a man was traveling, my son yelled from the bathroom one night, “MOM!! Come fast! Hurry!”. In full panic mode, I ran to the bathroom to find the toilet overflowing and my son standing there with a look of total shock and terror on his face. Once I realized no one was dying in the bathroom, I quickly turned the water off at the base of the toilet. I grabbed a plunger and talked the kids through the problem. I fixed the toilet and everything was well in the Beaird home again.

 

My kids were so proud and excited and my son even said, “Wow, mom you can do anything”. He couldn’t wait to tell his dad on the phone that night how there was a catastrophe and his mom fixed the toilet.

 

The next day, my son said, “mom, I have to go to the bathroom, can I use your bathroom?” Confused, I answered, “of course but what’s wrong with yours?” He sheepishly answered, “I don’t want the toilet to overflow again”.

 

I laughed but had to remind him that even if it did, I could fix it. Didn’t he remember that I just fixed the toilet the night before. How could he forget that miracle (in his eyes) that I just performed.

 



I was quickly reminded of the Israelites wandering through the desert asking Moses, “Why did you bring us out of Egypt? Did you bring us out here in the desert to die?” (Exodus 14:11).  How could they forget that God had just saved them from their oppressors in Egypt and delivered them out of slavery. Did they forget all the plagues that God put on the Egyptians so Pharaoh would let them leave? Did they forget that he was capable and able to save them and provide for them?

 

How quickly they forgot.

 

How often do we experience God and his power when we are delivered out of a scary situation, when we are healed from a disease or sickness, when we get unexpected financial help in a time of need. Then some time passes before we are struck by another issue and we question God’s ability and presence. Even though we have seen God work.

 



How quickly we forget.

 

My we always remember what God has done for us and may it build our faith so we trust more and more with every overflowing toilet.

 

“I will remember the deeds of the Lord; yes, I will remember your miracles of long ago. I will consider all your works and meditate on all your mighty deeds.” Psalm 77:11-12



39 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page