top of page
Search

Help... So you can learn

My son is 8 and loves “helping” my husband with different projects, like mowing the yard, fixing a broken toilet seat, you know the random odds and ends jobs that need to be done what seems like every other day.

 



My daughter, who is 4, has also loves to “help” me cook, and wipe down the kitchen cabinets and table after we eat. Here’s the thing, when they “help” it often takes twice as long to complete the task we originally set out to do. I’ll be honest, I do not love letting her crack eggs. Shells in everything and egg yolks in even more places, but she loves it.  I more times than not, have to clean up after my daughter has already “cleaned up”. My husband could fix the broken toilet seat in about 5 minutes but when my son helps it takes at least 30.


Even though sometimes it would be so much faster for me or my husband to do a task alone, not to mention it would actually get done right, we have started to let the kiddos “help” more because that’s how they learn. And bonus: we get to spend more time with them. I don’t NEED them to help me, in fact it would be easier without them, but I want to spend time with hem and teach them so they learn and grow.

 

Right now, my young kids want to help all the time with everything. I have a friend who has teenagers and she tells me they never want to help. They huff and puff when asked to help with something, like they don’t have time for what they are being asked to do, or they don’t feel like it’s important that they do what they are being asked.

 

You see where this going don’t you? God doesn’t NEED us to help Him in His plans. In fact, things would go much smoother if He just took over and didn’t let us make decisions, or make mistakes. However, He wants to spend time with you and help you learn and grow.

 

When we are new believers, we want to help all the time. When we start to mature, we may start to huff and puff when asked to help. We may not feel like we have time to help advance the kingdom of God, or we may feel like what we are being asked to do isn’t that important.

 

We should view trials and experiences and opportunities as a chance to learn. We should value the fact that God takes the time to teach us and shape us. We should ask for God to help us grow into who he crated us to be.

 

What does scripture say about this?



“Fools despise wisdom and instruction” Proverbs 1:7b

 

“If any of you lacks wisdom, let him ask God, who gives generously to all without reproach, and it will be given him”. James 1:5

 

“For the Lord gives wisdom; from his mouth come knowledge and understanding” Proverbs 2:6

 

“The way of a fool is right in his own eyes, but a wise man listens to advice” Proverbs 12:15

 

“One who is wise is cautious and turns away from evil, but a fool is reckless and careless” Proverbs 14:16

 

So mama, let them help, even if it takes longer and you have to do it twice, because they won’t always want to help.

 

And next time God askes you to “help” be as enthusiastic about helping as your 4-year-old is about cracking an egg.

16 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page