top of page
Search

Growing Pains

There is not much in this world that makes me feel more helpless than watching a baby in physical pain. Specifically, a baby that can’t communicate verbally yet. You’ve seen it. The screaming and crying and wanting to be held, but then immediately wanting to be put down. Then they want to be held again, but only standing up, don’t you dare sit down while holding that baby. It’s absolutely pitiful. Here’s the kicker, there is absolutely nothing that seems to be wrong with your baby. If you’re anything like me, the first time this happened with my first baby we went straight to the pediatrician. After numerous conversations with fellow moms, my own mother, and mother in law, we determined that he was going through a "growth spurt".



Growing is hard work. It can physically hurt; however, it’s for our good. We are growing! The same principle applies to spiritual growth. It can really hurt to grow and stretch, but we are growing closer and closer to Jesus. We are literally being formed into His image. And just like it can be painful for our bodies to grow, it can be uncomfortable for our minds and spirits to grow as well.


We may have to give physical things up. That can hurt. We may have to give up hobbies or activities. That can hurt. We may even have to give up relationships. Woah, that can really sting. Ultimately, we are called to suffer with Jesus for the Glory of God. That is not always easy, but we are growing and becoming the mature Christian that God has called us to be. We are bring made stronger and better suited to take on the challenges of this world.


Not only are we called to suffer, we are urged to "Consider it pure joy, my brothers and sisters, whenever you face trials of many kinds, because you know that the testing of your faith produces perseverance. Let perseverance finish its work so that you may be mature and complete, not lacking anything" James 1:2-4).


So momma, keep growing through the pain and uncomfortableness. Remembering that these trials produce perseverance and make you the disciple God is calling you to be.




Bible Verse: “I have said these things to you, that in me you may have peace. In the world you will have tribulation. But take heart; I have overcome the world” (John 16:33).


"After you have suffered for a little while, the God of all grace, who called you to His eternal glory in Christ, will Himself perfect, confirm, strengthen and establish you." (1 Peter 5:10).




Something to think about: Are you going through a growth spurt? How is God growing you into the disciple He needs you to be?


Prayer: Father God, give me peace in the growing pains of my faith. I understand that I am called to suffer as Christ suffered, and I know I will face trouble in this world, especially if I am actively pursuing you. Give me strength and joy through the Holy Spirit to grow closer to you through the growing pains. Help me to rejoice un the sufferings.

11 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page