top of page
Search

Did God Really Say?

Recently I read through Genesis but one verse struck me differently than it ever has before. To be honest, I’m not sure I ever even noticed it before.

 

Genesis 3:3 says “Now the serpent was more crafty than any of the wild animals the Lord God had made. He said to the woman, “Did God really say, ‘You must not eat from any tree in the garden’?”




 

“Did God really say?”

 

The serpent was questioning what Eve knew, or what she thought she knew. His attack was against the Word of God. All he had to do was make her confused, or question what God said, then his battle was already partially won. This is one reason I believe Satan attacks our time in the word. He does not want us to know what it says.




 

Satan takes what was good from God and turns it negative. Genesis 2:16-17 says, “Of every tree of the garden you may eat freely; but of the tree of the knowledge of good and evil you shall not eat”. Satan put his own greedy spin on this by saying “God won’t let you eat EVERY tree” (emphasis added). Satan wants us to focus on the negative, he wants us to only see the “no’s”. He wants us to see what other people have instead of being thankful for what we have. He wants the drama.

 

I’ve seen this in conversations with my kids. For example, one night I told my son he couldn’t play a video game because it was already late and he really needed to do his reading homework and start the bedtime routine. His response? “You never let me play at night.” (emphasis added). Never? Really? I wanted to respond. But how often is that our response as well? God, you never give me a baby when all my friends are having kids. You never let me enjoy my job when all my friends have careers that make them so happy. You never give us a bigger house when all my friends are building and buying the homes of their dreams.

 

Never? Really? Satan does not like when we are thankful for what we have, when we focus on all God said Yes too. The husband, the home, the job, the friends, the coffee…

 

How can we avoid satan’s temptations? By knowing the truth, the truth of the word of God. If we don’t know what the word of God says, then we can easily be led astray with doubt and question. It will be hard for Satan to make us question what God’s truth is if we have God’s truth stored up in our hearts. “I have stored up your word in my heart that I might not sin against you.” Psalm 119:11.




This is how we truly follow Jesus.

“So Jesus said to the Jews who had believed him, “If you abide in my word, you are truly my disciples,” John 8:31.

 

The word will guide us.

“Your word is a lamp unto my feet and light unto my path” Psalm 119:105

The word will set you free.

“Then you will know the truth, and the truth will set you free” John 8:32

 

The word gives us the ability to live like Jesus.

All Scripture is God-breathed and is useful for teaching, rebuking, correcting and training in righteousness, so that the servant of God may be thoroughly equipped for every good work.” 2 Timothy 3:16-17

 

So mama, when the devil tries to tell you that you don’t have time to read your bible, see that as a direct attack because that’s what it is and be even more diligent to get into the word.

 

Find a study group or even just a study partner to help hold you accountable!

 

I will be praying Luke 24:45 over everyone who reads this post.

“Then he opened their mind so that they could understand scripture”

25 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page