top of page
Search

Decisions Decisions

I heard one time that we make 35,000 decisions a day… Imagine if we prayed before every one of those decisions. Wow.


Have you ever felt like your prayers were too simple? Like what you were praying for wasn’t worth praying for? Like the details were minute and didn’t really matter in the grand scheme of life? Like you didn’t need to bother God with such a simple request? Or maybe you felt like it was selfish request. Like what you were asking for, you didn’t deserve. I have felt both of these emotions in my prayer life.


My husband and I recently had a conversation where we both admitted to feeling like what we were praying for was selfish and also didn’t really matter. For example, for me it was to have an easy race in a triathlon I was competing in. Specifically, to have no flat tires on the bike portion of the race. This felt like a really stupid, simple, and selfish thing to pray. I felt this voice telling me, “God does not care if you have a flat tire during this race.” Then I heard another voice, a voice saying, “God is in the details, and he cares.”


I believe God wants us to bring everything to Him, regardless of how big or small the details are. Why do I believe this? Let’s look at scripture.



“Pray without ceasing” (1 Thessalonians 5:17 ESV).


“In all your ways acknowledge Him and He will make your paths straight” (Proverbs 3:6 ESV).


“This is the confidence we have in approaching God: that if we ask anything according to His will, He hears us” (1 John 5:14 ESV).


“And pray in the spirit on all occasions with all kinds of prayers and requests. With this in mind, be alert and always keep on praying for all the Lord’s people” (Ephesians 6:18 ESV).


“The Lord detests the sacrifice of the wicked, but the prayer of the upright pleases him” (Proverbs 15:8 ESV).


The list goes on and on. The bible is full of commands to pray and seek Jesus in everything we do. EVERYTHING. I think that voice in our heads that tells us there is something God doesn’t want to hear is the Devil. When we pray continuously, we are growing closer to God, so naturally the devil will do what he can to interrupt that communication process. He is a liar and wants us to believe that God doesn’t care about the details. Momma, let me tell you, God cares about the details. He wants to hear everything.




So imagine, next time you have to make even the smallest decision, take it to the Lord, and see how your communication with Him increases and how your relationship with Him grows.


Bible Verse: “And he told them a parable to the effect that they ought always to pray and not lose heart” (Luke 18:1 ESV).


Prayer: Father, help me to always remember that you want to hear from me. You long to have me seek you continuously. Thank you for sending Jesus to die in my place so that I can have open communication with you. I love you Lord. Amen.

7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page