top of page
Search

Because I did so.

We’ve all heard the phrase “because I said so”. I actually have a whole other blog post with this title that you can read here:




It is a common answer to our children’s most common question, “why?”. When asked to feed the dogs, my 7-year-old responded with that all to familiar word, “why?” I answered quickly with “because I asked you to”. It’s not the same thing as “because I said so” but is it really that different? He then asked me why I never fed the dogs. We had a great little chat about how mommy feeds the dogs in the morning, before he even wakes up, so he doesn’t see me do my chores most of the time. We also talked about how it is important to obey regardless of how you feel about what you are being asked to do.



However, this got me thinking, what else do I ask him to do that he thinks I’m not doing as well. Treating my friends with kindness. Forgiving those who hurt me. Respecting the authoritative figures in my life. Showing love to people who didn’t show me love in return. Obeying when asked to do something even if I didn’t understand why. I want to be able to say to him, “Because I did so”. Am I doing what I’m asking my kids to do? Am I living how I’m asking my kids to live? I want my actions to speak louder than my words.





Jesus was the perfect example of this for us, wasn’t he? He truly can say, “because I did so”.


When he asks us to be kind and forgiving. “Be kind to one another, tenderhearted, forgiving one another, as God in Christ forgave you.” (Ephesians 4:32 ESV).


When he asks us to be respectful to authority. “Let every person be subject to the governing authorities. For there is no authority except from God, and those that exist have been instituted by God.” (Romans 13:1 ESV). Peter and Paul in multiple letters to the church, urge believers to be subject to authority regardless of how we are treated. We see Jesus, submit not only to his father in obedience, but also to roman leaders as he is crucified for crimes he did not commit. Jesus knows that God is the ultimate authority and “entrusted himself to him who judges justly” (1 Peter2:23 ESV), letting God judge the rulers and authorities.


When he asks us to love those who don’t love us. ““You have heard that it was said, 'You shall love your neighbor and hate your enemy. But I say to you, love your enemies and pray for those who persecute you,” (Matthew 5:43-44 ESV). Jesus loved his enemies by serving them. He washed Judas’ feet at the last supper knowing that Judas would betray him in just a short time.

He loved his enemies by praying for them. “And Jesus said, Father, forgive them, for they know not what they do” (Luke 23:43 ESV).


When he asks us to obey. “And this is love: that we walk in obedience to his commands. As you have heard from the beginning, his command is that you walk in love.” (2 John 1:6 ESV). We can show others that we love God by obeying his commands.


Peter tells us in 1 Peter to “ Keep your conduct among the Gentiles honorable, so that when they speak against you as evildoers, they may see your good deeds and glorify God on the day of visitation.” (1 Peter 2:12 ESV). This encourages us to live in a way that makes people give glory to God. So, I ask myself, am I living in a way that makes my children Glorify God?



Our children do need to learn to obey what we say because it is good for them “Children, obey your parents in the Lord, for this is right. “Honor your father and mother” (this is the first commandment with a promise), “that it may go well with you and that you may live long in the land.” (Ephesians 6:1-3 ESV).


We, as parents, need to learn to BE the example for them. We can show them how to live a righteous life just as Christ showed us how to live a righteous life.




Prayer:

Father God, help me to walk in a manner worthy of you. Fully pleasing to you. Bearing fruit in every good work so that glory is given to you. Help my children to see a mother who strives to please the Lord through obedience. Help me to set an example for them as you have set an example for me. Let me actions point them to Jesus and let them accept Him as their Savior ultimately live their lives in obedience to you.



14 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page