top of page
Search

Are you Martha or Mary?


Today’s reading starts off with some pre-work. I know, I know, you did not sign up for a workbook Bible study, you do not have time for that. Let me tell you Momma, you don’t have time to not read this. The passage is Luke 10:38-42. I’m going to paraphrase the scene below but Momma, you MUST read the passage for yourself.


Here’s the scene: Jesus and his disciples are traveling and a woman named Martha opens her home to them. Now you know if you just invited the Messiah to come over you’re going to make sure that the place is spotless. I’m talking hide the toys in the closet, light the expensive candle from Target and whip out that Joanna Gaines Magnolia Table cookbook! Now Martha had a sister named Mary, who “sat at the Lord’s feet and listened to his teaching” (Luke 10:39). Martha on the other hand, was so distracted “with much serving” (Luke 10:40) that she asked the Lord, “Umm, excuse me, do you see that my sister is making me do all this by myself, can you make her help me?” (Aly’s paraphrased version of Luke 10:40). Jesus then basically tells Martha to take a chill pill and focus on what really matters, “but only one thing is necessary. Mary has chosen the good portion, which will not be taken away from her” (Luke 10:42).



How often do we get so consumed with being the perfect host that we forget why we are hosting in the first place? We get frustrated when people don’t notice that the flowers match the balloon arch perfectly. We get annoyed when we are the only ones who care about how the house looks. Hospitality is about love, not decorations. When you focus on the presentation in order to impress people, that’s entertaining not hospitality. Hospitality is about the WHY, not the WHAT. How often do we get so consumed with making sure things around us are in order, that we don’t take a minute to realize that Jesus is in the room? We totally miss the conversations because we are fixing the dessert table flowers. Be a “Mary Momma”. Focus on Jesus and don’t get lost in the Martha world of making sure the presentation is perfect. Be hospitable to others and don’t lose focus, keep your eyes on Jesus.



This mindset can be applied to our lives as believers as well. How often do we get so wrapped up in the things we should do as believers, that we forget why we are doing them? When we volunteer at church, or in the community. When we show up at church every Sunday. When we feel like we have to do those things we are not truly focused of Jesus. That is works based salvation and that is not biblical. We don’t have to do anything other than believe. Faith alone is what saves you momma. The acts and services that come with faith are by choice because we love Jesus and want to be like him. Don’t forget why you are serving and volunteering and showing up to worship. It’s because you choose to, because you get to, because Jesus died for you.



Bible Verse: “But Martha was distracted with much serving. And she went up to him and said, “Lord, do you not care that my sister has left me to serve alone? Tell her then to help me. But the Lord answered her, Martha, Martha, you are anxious and troubled about many things, but one thing is necessary. Mary has chosen the good portion, which will not be taken away from her” (Luke 10:40-42).


Something to think about: Do you relate more to Martha or Mary?


Prayer: Father God, help me to keep my eyes on you. Remind me that only one thing is necessary and that is my relationship with You. Help me not to get distracted with my busy life and all the details, and help me to remember WHY I serve others.

3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page