top of page
Search

Annoyed Mom's Club

It was the 100th day of school recently at my son’s Kindergarten. The entire school dresses up as either a 100-year-old or they have 100 of some item on their person. My son wanted to be “treasure”. So, I went to my favorite fancy craft store, The Dollar Tree, and got 100 plastic gold coins. I also had to go to my second favorite craft store, Walmart, and get a tee shirt and a hot glue gun. No, I did not own a hot glue gun before this sacred event and I am starting to think I should have invested in a super duty hot glue gun and not the $6.99 version for other unforeseeable, last minute weird holiday events in my son’s kindergarten life.




Here’s the thing.


I would be lying if I said I did not enjoy hot gluing 100 pieces of fake gold on this black tee shirt at 9:30 last night.

I have lived my entire life waiting for moments like this. The late-night crafts for a school festivity. Moments of motherhood that seem insignificant or small or mundane.

I often hear moms brush these moments off as if they are inconvenient. But do these moms actually feel that way?



Society makes us feel like we have to have this persona of the tired mom. We feel like we have to compete with each other for the trophy that reads,” I had to do the most work for this task and my kids were the hardest to deal with so I win.”

We are judged if we have a kid who sleeps through the night every now and then, or God Forbid every night. We are judged if we actually enjoyed having to run to Walmart before school to get a tee shirt with a musical instrument on it for “Band Day” (I had to do this seriously, but now my son has a really cute shirt of a bear playing drums). We are judged if we don’t complain about mundane mom tasks.



Sure. There are times when we just need a break. I hear you. But it’s ok to enjoy motherhood too sister. It’s ok to share that Joy. It’s ok to enjoy motherhood.

Paul tells us, “Rejoice in the Lord always; again I will say, rejoice” (Philippians 4:4 ESV).

When we place our Joy in the Lord, it is hard to be disappointed or discontent in other areas of our lives. Including motherhood. Possible? Yes, absolutely. We all have days when things are annoying and we just can’t believe how many times we have had to pick up the same toy. But it sure does make it hard for the devil when your eyes and heart are set on Jesus. When we place our worth in who he is and not what we do, we find immeasurable contentment and joy.


Consider this too. We love our kids more than life right? Now try to wrap your mind around that fact that your Father loves you more than that. “If you, then, though you are evil, know how to give good gifts to your children, how much more will your Father in heaven give good gifts to those who ask Him”. (Matthew 7:11).

So, in the annoying moments, seek Jesus. Ask him to remind you who you are as a mother. In the joyous moments, share the Joy! Give glory to God and encourage other mommas around you to seek Jesus as well.



 

Prayer


Father, I can get really tired and annoyed as a mom. Help me to find true rest in you. Give me peace and contentment in your plan for me, in this stage of life I am in right now, in this very moment. Put women in my life who can help support my walk with you and encourage me as a tired mom. Show me women I can help support in their tired moments.

Help me also to remember that it's ok to enjoy motherhood! Show me how I can encourage others to enjoy motherhood as well. Help me not to buy into the idea that I have to be annoyed with motherhood responsibilities.

Thank you for loving me and thank you for loving my children.



15 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page