top of page
Search

All They Have To Say Is Ma Ma.

While at the park one day, my girlfriends and I were all conversing on the side of the playground while what felt like the 347 children we had with us ran around like wild hyenas. We heard a loud cry and a very distinct “MAMA” from the other side of the slide. Immediately, my friend said, “That’s mine, and that’s a hurt cry” as she took off towards the little girl sitting on the ground holding her knee. I had no panic, no hesitation, no worry at all because I knew it wasn’t my child in danger. My friend on the other hand, went straight into “boo boo kisser” mode and made a mad dash for a child with a scraped knee. In a matter of seconds, this baby girl was in the arms of her mother and feeling the effects of a peaceful voice and soft touch.


There were so many children on that playground, and multiple mothers scattered about. Yet when a child was in peril, and called out “Mama”, there was no guessing or questioning “was that my kid?” The mother immediately recognized her child's voice. Not only did she recognize her child’s voice, she was able to categorize the tone of the child’s voice as “in pain”. This is exactly how our Father hears us. He immediately hears your call for him. He recognizes your voice as a child of His and is able to immediately understand your need. All my child has to say is “Mom” and I know if they are in pain, or hungry, or let’s be honest, just whining. All we have to say as children of God is “Jesus”.




Sometimes it can be hard to find the words to say. Sometimes we are so full of hurt or pain that we don’t know how to express what we need. It can feel like we are drowning and need to be saved. Like a child who has fallen and can’t catch their breath. You know that frozen face of terror on a kid? Open mouth but no audible sound coming from it. All they can get out is “Mama”. All we have to say is “Jesus” and He is there, ready to kiss the boo boo, ready to give us a soft touch. Ready to save us.




But save us from what exactly? Paul tells us in Romans, “But now the righteousness of God has been manifested apart from the law. Although the Law and the Prophets bear witness to it - the righteousness of God through faith in Jesus Christ for all who believe. For there is no distinction. For all have sinned and fall short of the glory of God, and are justified by his grace as a gift, through the redemption that is in Christ Jesus” (Romans 3:21-24). We are saved from sin. We are justified by his grace, simply by faith. Simply by calling on Jesus and believing in him.


Bible Verse: “For everyone who calls on the name of the Lord will be saved” (Romans 10:13).


Something to think about: Have you truly called on Jesus? Have you asked him to save you? If so, how did you feel the moment you knew you were saved? If not, ask him now to save you.


Prayer: Jesus, help me to remember that you hear my prayers. Even when I have no words, you hear me call your name and know my deepest needs and desires. Give me peace in knowing that no matter what happens in my life, you are near me and ready and able to hold me and comfort me.

12 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page